treetop

New Cam Hp E337

21 posts in this topic

I have been playing with a HP E337 for a few months I had one the first week HP released them and ran it on and off thru September in October someone stole it and it took me awhile to get another one done. Anyhow this one has been running about 10 days now and I have surprised with the battery life so far. I put 2 new Lithium batteries in it and so far the picture count is over 1000 and still going. What worried me was the LCD cant be turned off just made darker as a power save feature. I have a pdf done on it The Mod is not bad at all and I would guess its a 3 second camera at the end of the refresh loop and a little faster than that sooner after a refresh. It isnt the quality of a camera as a Sony but it does do pretty good

It uses AA batteries, has NO optical zoom, the flash is decent and it has a time /date stamp on the pictures and it fits right in a 1040 vertical. The lens is far enough away from the flash to work in a cam easy enough. Maybe the best thing is these are in production and can be bought new from several places for just 70 dollars and they use cheap SD cards I have been using a 1 gig and it still doesnt seem to slow it down. I added it up in my store and you could buy all you need for just about 80 dollars plus shipping so for $ 160 or so you could have a brand new 5 mp trail cam

Here is a link to HP on it http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/shopping...&catLevel=2

Here is The HP E337 Modification PDF http://www.bfoutdoors.com/PDFS/Final_HP_E3...ODIFICATION.pdf

post-74-1197415781_thumb.jpg

post-74-1197415850_thumb.jpg

post-74-1197416089_thumb.jpg

post-74-1197416129_thumb.jpg

post-74-1197416209_thumb.jpg

Edited by treetop

Good work TT, looks like the flash is ok, are you useing an enhancer? Just looked at your instructions and it looks about like hacking a 380, even I can do this.

Thanks

Edited by killdee