well, I got moved in to my new house (well almost done) and pretty much have everything hooked up. I signed up for internet thru comcast here and I plugged my computer in and there is nothing.....it says windows must be re-installed...it wont even get me anywhere where I can open anything, will not boot up so basically my windows XP has disapeared from my computer.

anyone know how that could happen ? my ex says she did not mess with it at all and I am the one who just unplugged it from her house and re-plugged everything back in at my new house.

does this mean I have lost everything that I had stored in my computer, all my programs and pictures and all that stuff ?...I'm still new to modern technology and pretty computer illiterate so any advice or help with this matter would be so appreciated I'd be willing to pay you....

I'm at a loss as to how windows could be gone without someone removing it, it just does not make sense to me....

George

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Maybe you did lose everything and maybe you didn't. You can take it to a shop and ask them to try to do file recovery. they should be able to put it in as a slave and get your files if they are on the disk. Did you perhaps pack the pc near a magnet like those on stereo speakers? That can destroy it. You can also pay big $$$ to have the data professionally recovered. If you take it to a shop and you care about your data, tell them explicitly that you do not want the operating system reinstalled until you give the OK to do so. Only give the OK to do so when you are ready to give up on the data. Too many idiots out there run pc repair services and love reinstalling the OS as the "fix it all".