Garage Sale Trash

A few months ago I picked up a monitor for cheap. I few weeks ago I got a working computer... cheap...turns out it had no hard drive though...hmmmm. Yesterday I got a free hard drive, that may or not be good.

I installed the hard drive and I can hear it spinning. The screen says F2 for set-up. I set something to auto and it shows the hard drive as 130gb or something now, but it will not boot up still.

I have no experience at all with these things, the computer I use now, is the first one I ever had. Is there something I need to do to make a used hard drive work in a strange computer???? Or does it all need to go in the creek :lol:

Normally there is some words on the screen with a message, but sometimes it flashes so fast superman could not read it. The thing that comes to mind would be not having an operating system installed on the drive. Also, installations done for one hardware config won't usually work for another. You will need a windows disk to install an OS. The biggest issue will be that you would more than likely only be able to find Win7 or perhaps Vista and it might not be supported by the pc you just got.

Yes I do, I an have XP Home CD.

Have you tried installing it? You may have to enter the setup menu and select "boot from CD", insert disc then shut down and start again so it will boot from CD-rom. The Windows installer will test system to see if it can install XP.

I think I tried that once or twice, but I may have done it before the hard drive was recognized or something. Could be a bad CD drive too I guess....I have another one of those I can try too. If I knew just a little about this stuff....well I'll learn :)

Try going into the setup menu right when computer boots, and see what the setting are, you should be able to see what is installed. If you see the hard drive and CD drive they should be ok to try the just select first boot device and restart with XP cd already in drive.