dgrad

Blasts From The Past

I have been feeding the bears at this tree for 21 years, and this will be the 12th year that I have had trailcams down there. I had two P32 Camtrakkers the first year back in 2003. Since this is a slow time of the year on the forums, I thought I would go back and dig out some of my "oldies but goodies." These pics are from 2008 and the ground camera was a Sony W200, and the skycam up in the tree was a Sony W55. In this first pic, there is no way to know what is taking place, but I think mom is giving her cub instructions: "Climb up there and get those donuts, but don't eat them all, drop a few down here for me."

DSC00342-21_zpsfbeb25dd.jpg

Mom standing guard on the ground while junior climbs up after the donuts. This is a very dangerous place for cubs. Twice, I have witnessed cubs killed by boars on this set. Breeding season is late May through June, and this is the most dangerous time for the cubs

DSC003081_zps6490b6a3.jpg

Edited by dgrad

This is the same sow and cub on a rainy night. The cub is eating raspberry filled sugar-coated donuts. You can see the powdered sugar on the ground where mom is eating donuts dropped by the cub

DSC000431_zpsebb8cd80.jpg

Yummy !!! These are good!

DSC000441_zps233d0a7f.jpg

Mom does not think junior is dropping enough donuts, so here she comes !

DSC00053-21_zps1fc81a49.jpg