Saturday, I baited two mineral licks here in the creek bottom close to the house. Then Sunday, I put two of my W230 pocket cams at these licks. Droptines is still going to my set up of the hillside every night, but early Monday morning he found my bait at one of the licks. Sunday night after the Sunday Night Football game, I walked over to the licks to see what pics they had taken that night. I had just taken the cameras to these licks just before dark that night. I had several hundred pics on each camera, mostly does, but the buck that has been running with droptines all summer had been at one of the licks. Then early Monday morning just before daylight, droptines found my bait at one of the licks. I have been feeding him at this lick for five years. The time is off one hour on these pics because of the daylight savings time change. The LCD is disconnected on these cameras, so I brought them home to make corrections for that. The w230 is still there tonight, but I will replace them with Hx20v's. These cams use 6 D cell batteries for externals, and I have been charging batteries for them all day. The pics on these sets will be awesome

post-5081-1415084450_thumb.jpg

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

All of the trees in the area around this lick have been damaged by this buck during the rut over the years past. This lick is like "Grand Central Station" during the rut for him. I have hiked all over the country around here looking for sheds, and I have never found another area that has such a high concentration of rubs. Last year, I counted at least 75 fresh rubs right here in this area close to this lick. He has been doing this for five years now, and I created these licks because I wanted to see who in the heck was tearing up all of my trees.

post-5081-1415085262_thumb.jpg

Edited by dgrad