Coyote08

Sony 3v Cams With 18650

I know there had been some talk earlier this year about pairing up the lithium 18650s with some Sony 3V cams. With Ralph's(bigbassman) suggestions I used a 1N4001 Diode in the positive wire from the battery holder. I used 3-18650s in parallel. The voltage seems to be between 3.3V and 3.5V. Those of you who were afraid to fry your cams could use this option. I have this setup for externals with a Sony S40. No problems with cam. I think its been setup like that for about 2 months now.

I did the same thing with the diode....using 18650s to power a 3v slave and it works perfectly!

I've been using 18650s in DXG video builds for a few years now without any problems as the cameras battery is 3.7 volts the same as the 18650.

I also use them to run some of my S600s as external power without batteries in the camera itself...they have been working fine.

Can someone explain what the diode in the positive lead of the battery holder is for, should I be doing that also? Thanks.

The diode is used to drop the voltage. A fully charged 18650 charges to 4.2v. I know the p32 will run off of the 4.2v no problem, and I assume all the rest would as well withou issue. Like said though have to run without internal batteries though.

So the 18650s work with a 3V flash? I thought I had read flashes didn't work well with lithiums. I had thought about using 2 18650s in series with 2 dioes with a viv 2800 but didn't after reading lithium weren't recommended for flashes.

So the 18650s work with a 3V flash? I thought I had read flashes didn't work well with lithiums. I had thought about using 2 18650s in series with 2 dioes with a viv 2800 but didn't after reading lithium weren't recommended for flashes.